Running The Web

Where it all started back in 1995

Running The Web

Postby insx » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:49 pm

I found my CD for The Web. I got this bundled with FJ and I never actually played it. It runs with corrupted graphics in Windows 7 with compatibility mode set to Windows 98. What do I need to do to play it? Do I need a machine with Windows 98? A virtual machine, maybe?
Brief spec: AMD Athlon II X4 760K @ 3.8 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win 10 64bit | Radeon HD 5850 (1GB)
User avatar
insx
VIP Tester
VIP Tester
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Running The Web

Postby Maggus DaOffenbachah » Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:01 pm

I also have the bundled version, I can only say that Windows 98 isn't necessary since it works for me on XP (don't know how well it runs on newer Windows versions).
User avatar
Maggus DaOffenbachah
VIP Tester
VIP Tester
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:38 pm

Re: Running The Web

Postby IGL » Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:14 pm

works flawless on Win 7 x64.
corrupted/blurry graphics are caused by morphological filtering. (force) disable it for the .exe of the game.
User avatar
IGL
VIP
VIP
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:43 pm

Re: Running The Web

Postby insx » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:18 pm

I set it to Windows 95 compatibility and ticked all the boxes except 256 colours. It runs OK but the ball will slow down and then suddenly accelerate so I might need to tweak it some more. I can't believe I never played this, it's like Timeshock 0.5 :)

+1 vote for The Web getting the Ultra treatment.
Brief spec: AMD Athlon II X4 760K @ 3.8 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win 10 64bit | Radeon HD 5850 (1GB)
User avatar
insx
VIP Tester
VIP Tester
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Running The Web

Postby pcraenme » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:52 pm

Strange how PP tables run fine on one PC and problematic on another PC, running the same OS version. For me all 4 of them run fine (constant 60 FPS) on W7 64 bit on both my PC's and very choppy (around 30 FPS) on W8 64 bit on the same PC's, using exactly the same graphic driver versions. Ohers have already reported they run fine on W8. You just need a bit of luck I think. ;)
PC:Intel Core i5 3570K | MSI Geforce GTX 660ti PE | 16 GB | W8.1 Pro 64bit & W7 64bit
Phone:iPhone 4 | iOS 7.1.1
Phone:iPhone 6 | iOS 8.4
Tablet:iPad Air 128GB WiFi | iOS 8.4 | iCade Core
Tablet:Nexus 7 2013 32GB | Android 5.1.1
pcraenme
VIP Tester
VIP Tester
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Running The Web

Postby Penguinator » Fri Sep 27, 2013 6:45 am

Installing all patches (or at least 1.4 and 1.52) might also help. I don't remember if I did anything else after that, but I don't suffer from the color corruption anymore.
User avatar
Penguinator
VIP
VIP
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:42 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Running The Web

Postby twsh » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:23 am

If you got corrupted graphics. Set no compatibility in the properties of the exe and do this:
-Open the Desktop resolution configuration window, you know: right click on any place at the desktop and choose "Screen resolution"
-Don't change anything and leave this window open.
-Launch "The web" and if you are lucky there won't be corrupted graphics.

If you aren't lucky try setting the compatibility to w95 and try again.
If this work for you there is another way to achieve it. Make a file.bat and write this instructions:
@echo off
taskkill /f /IM explorer.exe
start /wait yourpathtotheexe\theweb.exe
start C:\Windows\explorer.exe

I didn't test this workarounds for "The web" but for other old games with corrupted graphics on w7/vista it works (starcraft,the heart of darkness... for example).
twsh
VIP Tester
VIP Tester
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:36 pm
Location: Sevilla

Re: Running The Web

Postby insx » Fri Sep 27, 2013 4:51 pm

I managed to find the 1.52 patch and it seems to start up fine with just Windows 98 compatibility selected. I haven't actually played it properly yet to see if the slow/fast ball thing is still happening.
Brief spec: AMD Athlon II X4 760K @ 3.8 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win 10 64bit | Radeon HD 5850 (1GB)
User avatar
insx
VIP Tester
VIP Tester
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Running The Web

Postby spannernick » Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:24 am

I have it on my PC and its Windows 10 and it works fine,runs at normal speed and no graphics problems,wish it wouldn't keep asking for the cd,anyway of running it without the cd..?

I have all 4 tables on my PC and they work fine.could be your graphics card..

The Web and Big Race USA are original and Timeshock and Fantasic Journey are GRABIT. The last 2 I got from CEX for £0.75p each..;)
spannernick
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 2:36 pm
Location: London,UK

Re: Running The Web

Postby insx » Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:29 pm

It played fine eventually but I didn't play it for long. Anything other than Timeshock! just doesn't seem to hold my interest.
Brief spec: AMD Athlon II X4 760K @ 3.8 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win 10 64bit | Radeon HD 5850 (1GB)
User avatar
insx
VIP Tester
VIP Tester
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:41 pm

Next

Return to The Web

cron